Hi! My name is




Terrier, American Staffordshire/Mix


Date of Birth
September 20, 2021

Located In

About Grace

“Hi! Hi Hi! Grace here – I’m so excited to meet you!

Last May I was brought into AARCS care, emaciated and recently found with Distemper. YES, you read that right! I am a SURVIVOR! Working through my medical needs kept me back socially. Recovery was Ruff! I became comfortable with my foster brother who has helped me build confidence in home, we play and rough house now. He is a source of comfort, I’m still working on my interactions with other dogs. I deem him as ‘Safe’ while other dogs are ‘unsafe’ at this time. My perfect day would be laying in the sun like a pretzel, belly exposed and endless belly-rubs!

I recently finished an 8 week Leash Reactivity Program through Dogwit Training. I’ve learned some skills but will need help to work through the next steps.

I Love:

  • Being outside! Pool Pawty anyone?!?
  • ZOOMIES!!! Zooming around the house and yard with a favourite toy
  • Walks on the long line and adventures in the river
  • Helping to recycle the recycling, getting all those cardboard boxes down into tiny pieces!
  • Cuddling! I love to be the wiggly little spoon!
  • Playing tug-of-war with humans
  • Car-Rides! My favourite thing!

I am less excited about:

  • Other dogs, I’m very conflicted and prefer to be the only dog as I have lots of LOVE to give! I feel uncomfortable meeting new dogs and need some help with this
  • New environments and places, I need help learning to be comfortable in new places! There are so many distractions and sometimes I get overwhelmed.

I know:

  • Sit
  • Down
  • Come
  • Sit Pretty
  • Go to your bed
  • Army Crawling
  • Jump with all 4 feet off the ground
  • I’m well house trained and cue my people when I need to go outside
  • I’m enthusiastic and love learning new things!

I’m working on:

  • Leash Reactivity, I do best at a distance from other dogs and with goodies to help distract me
  • Polite Greetings with people, I’m an enthusiastic greeter!

I would love a forever family who:

  • Understands my fears and is experienced in helping me through some of my socialization deficits. I’m very smart and catch onto things quickly.
  • Supports my diet and limitations of things I can have…. I love veggies,  especially cucumbers!!!
  • Has a fenced yard where I can lay in the sun! A Doggy Pool would be on my dream list!

I’m super, SUPER excited to meet my fur-ever hoomans. I love having people who play with me, make me feel safe and give me scritches in just the right spot! Can’t wait for you to take me home!” – xo, Grace

Good with Cats?


Good with Dogs?


Good with Kids?

Kids 16+ Recommended

Do I Need Special Care?

Yes, Behavioral Special Needs - Grace is on a special diet and medication for Allergies and to assist in Behaviour. She is working on leash reactivity towards other dogs.

Adoption Application