Fauna

  • AARCS ID# A41973384
  • Female
  • Breed: Retriever, Labrador/Mixed
  • Puppy
  • Est. DOB: 12/17/2018
  • Size: Medium
  • located in Edmonton


    IMPORTANT NOTICE:

    This animal is currently an Animal in Care with AARCS and is not available for adoption at this time. Please note that applications will NOT be accepted for this animal until they are posted as available on our Adoptable Animals page. Our website is updated daily so please keep checking back on their progress and availability. Thank you for choosing to rescue!


    Share Adoptable!


    Story

    Photos courtesy of Samantha Young Photography

    Hiya! My name is Fauna. I’m a middle-aged puppy who is living life to the fullest!

    I am a gentle soul and am quite calm (for a puppy). I can sit beside my human in the yard and watch the world go by without kicking up any fuss – people, cars, bicycles – nothing really worth leaving my human’s side for.

    I like other dogs, too. I have met big and small puppers, and we all get along just fine. The two older dogs here both know how to sit really well, and they’re trying to teach me too. Mom is pretty generous with treats so I’m catching on quick.

    I always prefer to do my business outside and my human is kind enough to give me lots of opportunities to do so. So far I’ve got a perfect record for no puddles in the house (except for that time I tipped over my water bowl)…

    When my mom heads to work in the mornings, I am pretty good with chilling in my kennel while she’s gone. I get frozen kong treats and chews to keep my mind busy and I know she will play lots with me when she gets home in the evenings.

    I’m still figuring out how the whole walk-while-attached-to-a-person thing works, and I flutter around to check out all the trees and posts and rocks and fire hydrants and flowers as we go. My mom says it’s ‘enrichment’ for me to soak up all the smells and I kinda like it… it’s far more interesting than walking in a straight line down the sidewalk.

    I like my stuffed toys and will carry them around the house. I also like food puzzles and mealtimes usually incorporate something I need to use my noggin’ to solve. Mom says I’m a clever little lady!

    My absolute favourite thing is cuddles, though. I love snuggling up for pets and scratches and would love to be a lap dog if I’m allowed.

    Do you know ANYONE who might be looking for a happy, snuggly, friendly, floppy-tongued puppy? If you do, can you send them my way please? I can’t wait to find my furever family!

    • AARCS_cat
      Good with Cats?
      Not tested with Cats
    • AARCS_dog
      Good with Dogs?
      Yes, Good with Dogs
    • AARCS_KidTested
      Good with Kids?
      Only tested with Kids Over 8 Years
    • AARCS_SpecialNeeds
      Does this Animal have Special Needs?
      Yes, Medical Special Needs

      Fauna has been diagnosed with severe early onset bilateral hip dysplasia which will likely require surgery when she is older