Jordan

  • AARCS ID# A40989045
  • Female
  • Breed: Collie, Rough/Mixed
  • Dog
  • Est. DOB: 3/11/2018
  • Size: Medium
  • located in Edmonton

    Share Adoptable!


    Story

    Photos courtesy of Samantha Young Photography

    Hi! My name is Jordan, but I prefer Jordie for short! I’m a furry little bundle of joy and I can’t wait to meet you!

    I need to tell you that it takes me a little while to trust new people, but once I get to know you, I‘m sure we will be best friends! I’m exactly the right size to be a lap dog (according to me), and love to lay close beside you on the couch when we’re watching TV. I will come and ask for attention and like to soak up chin scratches whenever I can. I do have some sensitive spots, too, though, and I prefer only gentle touches on my back. I think I’d feel most relaxed around older kids and adults who will respect my boundaries that way.

    When it comes to dogs, I’m generally a pretty sociable gal. I don’t fuss about sharing food, and like to chase and herd my dog friends, too. My favourite playmates are dogs about my size, but dogs who are larger and chill can be ok, too. If they’re too barky, though, it can be a bit unsettling for me. I’ve also met a cat or two and don’t mind them, but I can be a little nosy (I earned myself a scratch once, but I’m learning).

    My days are pretty calm and consistent – I eat breakfast and then get treats while my foster mom goes to work. She lets me stay in the kitchen, and the other dog stays in the living room. I like having my own personal space to roam, and can be trusted not to chew on the cabinets or be destructive. When she gets home, we hang out and play and chase balls in the yard (my foster human is learning how to fetch pretty good!) After dinner, we settle in on the couch to watch some TV, and then I get to curl up and sleep on a dog bed in the human’s bedroom (because I can’t jump up on her high bed).

    I’m fully toilet trained and can hold it like the lady I am. I’ve got a perfect record for no accidents in any of the houses I’ve been in. (I’m pretty proud of that, and am sure I can keep my winning streak!)

    I’m still learning to be comfortable on a leash, but it’s an exercise in trust and I sometimes need to lay down and absorb what’s around me on the route. I definitely prefer to have a leash on a harness over a collar. My foster mom says I’m getting better every time, but it’s really scary still, so I still need a home with a backyard while I continue building confidence on leash in quiet settings.

    My favourite toys are squeaky rubber bouncy ones. I dig them out of the toy box to squeeze and toss around. My least favourite thing is thunder (or loud noises) and if the sky is falling (it’s raining) I really prefer to stay inside under the bed.

    So, what can I say? I guess I am a little bit quirky (aren’t we all in our own ways)? I am also the biggest lovebug and I’m smart and eager to please, too! My foster mom reassured me that my people are out there looking for me – she says they’ll be ready to learn from me, and I will keep learning from them.

    Do you think that sounds like it might be you?

    • AARCS_cat
      Good with Cats?
      Yes, Good with Cats
    • AARCS_dog
      Good with Dogs?
      Good with calmer dogs
    • AARCS_KidTested
      Good with Kids?
      Best with older kids
    • AARCS_SpecialNeeds
      Does this Animal have Special Needs?
      Yes, Behavioral Needs

      Jordan has some specific fears she is slowly working on overcoming – she needs a furever home with a yard and no small children.