WAGS 2 WISHES // Featured Fido


✦ MEET PEELER $150 Adoption Fee ✦

Peeler

  • AARCS ID# A40573567
  • Male
  • Breed: Terrier, American Pit Bull/Mixed
  • Dog
  • Est. DOB: 1/15/2014
  • Size: Large
  • located in Calgary

    Share Adoptable!


    Story

    Photos courtesy of The Dog with a Bow Photography and Trails and Bears

    Hi new friends! I’m Al, but you might know me as Peeler. You may have seen the story of when I was rescued on the AARCS’ social media pages… I think I might be a little bit famous!

    Boy, oh boy, am I a joy to be around! I had a pretty rough start to life (and I’m about five now!) but now that I’m settled in a safe, warm home I am showing off all the amazing things about my personality! For your convenience, I’ve put together a list of all the things I love, and things I don’t love yet/I’m still working on. You ready?!?

    Likes:
    - My hoomans are the BEST! I have so much fun with them, and love to follow them around and give them snuggles so they don’t forget how much I love them. It’s true – I love most people, but I do sometimes have what you hoomans call “stranger danger” so I am looking for a family who is willing to work on that a bit.
    -Dogs! Sometimes I like dogs. Sometimes I don’t. They say I come off a bit rude from time to time, and need ‘slow and proper’ introductions. Boring!
    -feeling safe and loved
    -a good chew toy
    -offering you a sit
    -excitedly bounding toward you when you call my name or say “come!”
    -although I love it when my family/pack is around, I’ve actually done really well when I’m home alone and left in a bedroom! :)
    -being house-trained (I’m also working on being crate-trained, too! I will even go in there sometimes on my own now.)
    - Positive and kind training

    Dislikes:
    -cats. Well, it isn’t so much that I don’t like them, but I’m a little *too* interested in them when they are in my space. No kitties for me!
    -walking nicely on a leash. I’m sure I’ll like it eventually! Right now it feels like I have so much to learn, and this one feels tough. My foster humans use a Halti and a harness when they walk me because I’m so big and strong and want to explore the world (ie. chase cars, squirrels, etc.)
    -people or dogs in my space when I’m just trying to eat my dinner. I was so hungry for sooo long, that I can be a little temperamental about this. However, I only really get grumpy about “sharing” at mealtime- I’m perfectly good about this when it comes to treats! Don’t worry though, my foster family and some nice dog trainers are helping me get over this.

    I’m a big, strong boy with an even bigger heart, just looking for a family to love! If you are a family with no cats, small critters, or small kiddos, and are comfortable with helping me understand the world is a safe place, I bet you I will not be a decision you’ll regret!

    • AARCS_cat
      Good with Cats?
      NO CATS PLEASE!
    • AARCS_dog
      Good with Dogs?
      Only tested with Larger Breed Dogs
    • AARCS_KidTested
      Good with Kids?
      Not tested with kids, but we recommend only kids over the age of 14 please.
    • AARCS_SpecialNeeds
      Does this Animal have Special Needs?
      Yes, Behavioral Special Needs

      Al is suitable for an experienced family. He has some quirks that he needs some help with.