Polka

  • AARCS ID# A35930960
  • Female
  • Breed: Dalmatian/Mixed
  • Dog
  • Est. DOB: 7/14/2011
  • Size: Medium
  • Share Adoptable!


    Story

    Photos courtesy of Inga Morozoff Photography

    Hi I’m Polka! I’m 6 years old and I am looking for a specific forever home. I had a rough start to my life but that all changed when the kind people came and saved me from the puppy mill I was living in. I am quite shy with new people but I do warm up to new women quickly.

    I have been in my foster home for over 5 months now and I am still not thrilled with the man that lives here too. I think my forever home will only have women in it weather that means a couple of women or just one woman. I think a home with out kids would be ideal as well. I love other dogs, my forever home will have at least one large confident dog to show me around and help me with my anxiety. I seem to gravitate to male dogs but I’ve gotten along with all the dogs I have met. I am much more confident when there are other dogs are around. I may be shy but once I trust you I turn into a silly, outgoing and super hilarious little girl. Don’t judge me by my pictures as they do not do me justice, I was quite nervous when I was getting my pictures done. I am a gorgeous petite girl only weighting about 35 pounds. I look bigger in my pictures I know but I am really not that big!

    I am crate trained and actually use my crate as my safe place. I am quite in my crate over night and while my foster parents are at work. I am also potty trained with very minimal accidents in the house. I walk well on a leash but do pull sometimes but I just want to smell everything!!

    I am still being walked with a double leash as I am easily spooked but I love going for walks and smelling all new smells the world has to offer. This one time I was on a walk with a temp foster and I got spooked and slipped my collar and spent the next 10 days on the run for people that were just trying to get me home to my foster mom. That was a super scary experience that I hope never happens again!!

    I may be shy but once I find my person I bond with them fast and hard. I have a very special bond with my foster mom. She has helped me step out from all the fear and realize the world isn’t that scary. It does take me a bit to feel comfortable in new places but it is taking me less and less time to feel relaxed in new situations. My foster mom tells me I have come so far and have been trying sooooo hard to be brave and tackle all the scary things and I have been successful! I am gaining more and more confidence everyday! I am looking for a woman to help me continue my journey into a well rounded girl. I promise you I am worth the wait!!

    If you think I might be a good fit for your family have your people contact my people and let’s chat about my future! Xoxox Polka

    • AARCS_cat
      Good with Cats?
      Not tested with Cats
    • AARCS_dog
      Good with Dogs?
      Yes, Good with Dogs
    • AARCS_KidTested
      Good with Kids?
      NO KIDS PLEASE!
    • AARCS_SpecialNeeds
      Does this Animal have Special Needs?
      Yes, Behavioral Needs

      Polka is quite shy and timid.