Willis

  • AARCS ID# A34937422
  • Male
  • Breed: German Shepherd/Mixed
  • Puppy
  • Est. DOB: 2/3/2017
  • Size: Medium

  • IMPORTANT NOTICE:

    This animal is currently an Animal in Care with AARCS and is not available for adoption at this time. Please note that applications will NOT be accepted for this animal until they are posted as available on our Adoptable Animals page. Our website is updated daily so please keep checking back on their progress and availability. Thank you for choosing to rescue!



    Story

    Photos courtesy of Inga Morozoff Photography


    Willis says…

    “Great news! I am sooooo close to being ready to leave my starter home and upgrade to my forever home. I am so excited! But see here, I am looking for a very particular home — not because I am picky, by no fault of my own, I have some (health) limitations that restrict me. DON’T WORRY though! I’ve made a list to make it easy for you to see if we’re a good match! Here are my must have’s and nice to have’s….

    Must have…
  • Looking for a bungalow preferably, or a home with limited steps as my vision is not 100%. I can however — whip up and down 3 steps like a total Rockstar!
  • My very own doggy roommate / brother / sister (whatever you call them!) who loves to play! I love my peeps, and I am currently living with two doggy roommates and we have a blast. I go-go-go until I just can’t go any more…and then I nap, nap and nap some more! My foster chums let me chew and jump on them. They are the bestest I tell ya — they are even helping me with my confidence and ‘how-to-dog’ skills. When I get nervous or unsure of a situation my chums are there for me…they got my back!
  • It is REALLY important that I have an enclosed back yard. Due to my sight and hearing limitations, a secure yard is the safest for me. Initially, I might have some hiccups figuring out the yard, but once I do…look out! I absolutely love to run around with the dogs, chew on a stick and catch some sunny rays. Off-leash parks will not be a good place for me…I have some challenges when it comes to recall as I sometimes don’t know where your voice is coming from…keep me safe, please.
  • I am currently working on my Master’s Degree in Human behavior, so I’m very excited to put my skills to work. I’m not going to lie to you, I do have some separation anxiety — so a home that is not gone for long hours is preferable. I am not a big fan of being crated right now and am very lucky that I get to spend all day with my foster dad! I like to pretend that I’m a shadow and stay close to him and the other dogs…they need me….they’re my fan club after-all!
  • Nice to have’s
  • A place to lay my pee-pad. I am working on my house training, I’m really lucky that my foster dad is home with me all day so we go outside a lot. Sometimes I am so busy having fun that I forget to hold it and I run to my pee-pad. My aim is getting pretty good. Olympics here I come! That’s a category, right?
  • Anywho, enough about me! What about you?! Do you think we could be two peas in a pod? Well, how about you fill out one of those application thingy’s and we can chat when you get here!” — xo Willis

    Willis’s foster mom says….
    Willis has been with us for a few months now. He came to us with some neurological health issues at 7 weeks old, resulting in his eyesight and hearing being very poor… which have improved considerably. Due to some of his challenges, having at least one dog friend, who wants to be with him, is a must. Willis is fearful of being carried, I think it has something to do with his eyesight, so being carried up and down large flights of stairs is very stressful for him. He currently lives with three cats and for the most part is pretty respectful…although there are moments when he tries to bounce and play with them. They are not amused. We are currently working on touch, handling, in the house leash skills, and potty training. However, he has mastered the art of “sit” ❤


    It will take him some time to get settled into his new home, but with kindness, love, consistency, repetition, and patience he will settle into his new home and feel comfortable. Willis is the happiest little dog, who lives each day with much enthusiasm and energy. He has brought so much joy to our lives.

    • AARCS_cat
      Good with Cats?
      Yes, Good with Cats
    • AARCS_dog
      Good with Dogs?
      Yes, Good with Dogs
    • AARCS_KidTested
      Good with Kids?
      Not tested with Kids
    • AARCS_SpecialNeeds
      Does this Animal have Special Needs?
      Yes, Medical Needs


      Partially blind, deaf and has had mange.